Sri Swami Satchidananda

Awards and Honors

Awards and Honors

Swami SatchidanandaSwami SatchidanandaSwami Satchidananda receives Julliett Holister Award

2014 June

Over the years, Swami Satchidananda received many honors for his public service, including the Juliet Hollister Interfaith Award presented at the United Nations and, in 2002, the U Thant Peace Award. On the occasion of his birth centennial in 2014, he was posthumously honored with the James Parks Morton Interfaith Award by the Interfaith Center of New York.

The Board of Directors and Staff of Yoga Alliance

would like to pay tribute to one of the most revered Yoga Masters of our time. Sri Swami Satchidananda, founder of Integral Yoga®, is known worldwide as a spiritual teacher whose teachings embody the truths found in all the great wisdom traditions. We, the Yoga community, are deeply indebted to Sri Swami Satchidananda for his substantial contributions toward bringing the ancient teachings of Yoga into our modern context. His teachings will live on in the hearts of millions, and continue to influence the evolution of world peace, to which he dedicated his life.

—The Board of Directors and Staff of the Yoga Alliance

1950 Honorary Title of Yogiraj (King of Yoga) awarded by H. H. Sri Swami Sivananda, Yoga Vedanta Forest Academy, India.

1961 Medal of Honor from the Manila Yacht Club.

1967 Martin Buber Award for Outstanding Service to Humanity, The Little Synagogue, New York.

1969 Medal of Honor from the City of Verona, Italy.

1969 Medal of Honor from the Academy of Tiberina, Rome, Italy.

1970 Presented with Key to the City and named Honorary Citizen of Rayol-Canadel District, France.

1974 Peace Award by Chennai Branch of UNESÇO, India.

1975 Presented with Key to the City of Orlando, Florida; March 8, 1975, was proclaimed by Mayor as Swami Satchidananda Day.

1976 Honorary Fellow of Concordia University; Montreal, Canada.

1977 Fellow of the College of Human Sciences, International Institute of Integral Human Sciences; Switzerland.

1981 Fellow of World Thanksgiving Foundation; Dallas, Texas.

1982 Honorary Doctorate of Humanities, International College of Spiritual Sciences; Montreal, Canada.

1982 Presented with Key to the City of Varredes, France.

1983 Honorary Title of Perarul Perumunivar (Grace-filled, Great Sage) by His Excellence Sri Kaurana, (then) Governor of Tamil Nadu, India.

1983 Honorary Citizenship of the City of Baltimore, Maryland.

1984 Honorary Degree, Doctor of Divine Wisdom; The New Seminary, New York.

1984 Fellow of the World Vegetarian Congress, England.

1986 Evarts Loomis Peace Award of the Samata Institute; California, in recognition of Outstanding Achievement and superior service in the field of holistic health.

1986 Humanitarian Award of the Anti-Defamation League of B’nai B’rith.

1990 Honorary Patron of the Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan International, Mumbai, India.

1990 Unity in Yoga Award for World Service, Unity in Yoga.

1990 Golden Lotus Award for Outstanding Achievement, International Yoga Academy; Argentina.

1990 Outstanding Achievement Award, International Yoga Academy; Argentina.

1992 New World Academy Luminary Award; New World Academy, England.

1993 The Albert Schweitzer Award, Albert Schweitzer Foundation; Austria.

1994 Hindu of the Year Award, from Hinduism Today, Hawaii.

1996  The Juliet Hollister Interfaith Award, presented at the United Nations. Other recipients include: H. H. the Dalai Lama, Nelson Mandela, Queen Noor of Jordan, and Pandit Ravi Shankar.

2002 U Thant Peace Award, presented at the Interfaith Center of New York by the Peace Meditation at the United Nations. Other recipients include: Nelson Mandela, Mikhail Gorbachev, Pope John Paul II, Mother Teresa, the Dalai Lama, Desmond Tutu and Dada J.P. Vaswani.

2014:  James Parks Morton Interfaith Award awarded posthumously by the Interfaith Center of New York. Other awardees included: The Honorable Al Gore, 45th Vice President of the United States, Nobel Peace Prize Laureate 2007;  Peter L. Zimroth, Senior Counsel, Arnold & Porter LLP, Director, Center on Civil Justice, NYU Law School; and Mrs. Gaetana Enders, Humanitarian.